Tuscaloosa Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys
Aggressively Defending the Accused in Alabama
After being accused of a sex crime, you may feel that your future is lost and that little can be done. These types of accusations are devastating and can ruin your reputation, your personal and professional relationships, and create havoc in your life indefinitely. Along with these social consequences you will be facing severe criminal penalties, which can include lifetime registration as a sex offender.
In any sex crime allegation, the earlier you bring in an experienced criminal defense attorney, the better. You will need legal protection of your rights and the counsel of your lawyer at every step of the process, from initial investigation to trial. At The Glasscox Law Firm LLC, you will have access to the legal minds of not one but two attorneys who will stand by you and build the most effective defense possible. Our legal team knows their way around a courtroom and can put up an aggressive strategy against a prosecutor’s case.
Accused of a sex offense in Jefferson, Blount, Bibb, Pickens or Tuscaloosa Counties or as a student or faculty member at the University of Alabama? Call us at (205) 509-5547 as soon as possible for a free consultation.
Alabama Sex Crimes
Sex crimes in Alabama can run the gamut from misdemeanor to felony charges. These crimes can include:
- Child molestation
- Sexual misconduct
- Sexual abuse
- Sexual exploitation
- Child pornography
- Indecent exposure
- Solicitation of minors
- Failure to register as a sex offender
Penalties for these crimes will depend on the particular offense, whether it involved minors, whether you have a prior criminal history, and other relevant facts. Most sex crimes are felonies which carry more than 1 year of prison time along with heavy fines. Many Alabama sex offenses lead to a mandatory sex offender registration requirement. Alabama has one of the most severe laws regarding this registration, requiring it for life in addition to putting a sex offender stamp on your driver’s license.
Sex Offender Registration in Alabama
When mandatory sex offender registration is required upon a sex crime conviction in Alabama, it brings many restrictions and negative social stigma. Sex offenders in the state are prohibited from living or working within 2,000 feet of schools or daycare facilities and must register every 3 months and pay a fee. Your name, photo, and address are posted on the registry website for public access. In some cases, you are prohibited from being within 500 feet of a school, playground, daycare facility, park, university, or school bus stop.
Fight Back with the Help of Our Strong Defenders
The stakes involved in sex crime accusations and charges are extremely high. Your reputation and future opportunities may be severely damaged. At such a critical time, it is paramount that you seek the help of a law firm with proven results. Our team in Tuscaloosa has a history of taking on tough cases. We are here to help handle your legal problem by applying all of the legal skills and strategies we have gained over decades.